THE FOLLICLE

Beauty

366593e34c33f85db53d56b7bd626f79From hair loss and hair cuts, to the fuzz between your legs and the strands sprouting from your bonce: we’re hair obsessed.

I have always been partial to the longer haired gentleman, and I think if more women were honest with themselves, they are too. It’s something to do with our sexual appetites harking back to the Stone Age- forget pecks, biceps or even triceps, give me a head of hair and I’m putty in your hands. Teamed with a beard? You don’t even have to know my name. Blame science, I do.

It therefore pleases me that one of the most iconic styles of the last year or so, and one of the trends sure to define our lost little generation is the ‘mun’ or man bun. This, to me, reigns supreme in follicle fashion; so much so that I think it should be mandatory for men to don one for at least a month of their lives. Why should top knots be restricted to women only? I’m all for equal rights and if we can do it guys, then so can you.

For women, it’s fringes that are coming to the fore. Put off for a while when a guy mate of mine at uni told me that he could never understand why women had them:

“Why ruin a pretty face?” he asked.

I didn’t (and still don’t) even know where to begin.

I’ve always loved having one. They frame my face more than Kim’s contouring ever could and they add that certain something to an outfit that a hand bag just can’t. But as with most great fashion or beauty fixtures, they come with their perils and fringed females must always think ahead: staying over at people’s houses requires either a full bag of bobby pins to curb the curl; hats are pretty much a no-go if you’re headed anywhere you’ll need to impress, and rain… well, just stay inside. Deschanel and Byrne make it look so easy but I can pretty much guarantee that they have a team of twenty to make those facial curtains look so seamless.

And what do we hide under our bangs? More hair, of course. I’ve always had fuller, very dark brows – unlucky me until Delevigne hit the big time- and I now walk around like a boss, only tweezing when things get really bad, or my fringe grows out. But I don’t believe they’ve ever received so much attention; from drawing them on to waxing them off, we’re really quite distracted by those little sweat guards. But as one who is quite clearly pro-hair, I must stress something I feel quite strongly about: the fact that they are called browS. It’s for a very good reason. We should all, no matter what gender or how painful the upkeep, have two. The forehead is no place for a caterpillar- except for Frieda Kahlo’s of course; hers seems like the perfect habitat.

So, in a world obsessed with beauty, let’s come together to celebrate being low-maintenance and hairy; something we rarely (except for Cameron Diaz and Julia Roberts) do. And lads, if Leonardo DiCaprio is doing something, then don’t ask questions and just follow suit- the mun is paramount.

Oh, and FYI, Primark do hair ties for a pound. Thank me later boys.

Leave a Reply

