The Single Life

Lifestyle

Having been involved with someone or another since the age of sixteen, I used to forget what it meant to be single. Now that I am truly riding solo for once, I remember exactly what it means; you can start thinking about yourself.

When you’re in a relationship, you’re forever envying your single friends who are going out and playing the field. But why? You think they’re out partying all the time and having fun. In reality, they’re envying you for having someone to watch a film and order a take-away with whilst they’re doing the leg work to find their Mr (or Mrs) right. I guess the old adage ‘The grass is always greener’ is rather apt in regards to Pat Benatar’s battlefield of love.

However, there are undoubtedly both positives and negatives in regards to both relationship statuses. As a singleton, you can pick your nose, wear a face mask at night and commit all those other little ‘single sins’ that you love but can’t execute when someone’s sleeping in your bed every nightBut then again, as an attachedton you get someone to create bad habits with that only you two on cloud cupid find cute, like eating ice cream in bed or squeezing each other’s spots. Both of which are incredibly satisfying (apparently).

However, it has to be said that being both single and attached have one thing in common; loneliness. When you’re single, unless you have a little someone to text or think about, it is fundamentally really quite boring. And when you’re attached, it becomes impossible not to lose touch a little with your friends, making the single person inside you very lonely indeed. It’s normally the realisation that you’ve lost all communication with the outside world that makes you feel as if you might like to be alone again, because as either man or woman, you feel as if you’re able to ‘do what you want’ when you’re single. But is this really the case? And what do you actually want to do when you’re single? Yes, you can kiss lots of different people and date which is rather exciting I suppose, but when you’re in a relationship, you’re guaranteed all of those things anyway, plus the sex is always far more satisfying. And you know where you stand.

I must say however, I do feel rather liberated when I’m single (with the help of Beyoncé of course), but I’m not sure how long that will actually last.

One thing I am enjoying though is being able to wear truly enormous pants.

One thought on “The Single Life

  1. Truly enormous pants are something I miss lol. You make some very good points here, the last time I was single I spent SO much time with my friends but always missed having someone special. Now I’m with someone and I miss spending so much time with my friends!

    You just can’t win xx

Leave a Reply

