The Dissertation

Education

So I survived it.

Over 300 hours, a lost memory stick, 600,000,000 calories and 20 drafts later, I’m done. I feel like I’ve run the marathon and climbed Kilimanjaro all in one day!!

Although I had heard of the dreaded ‘dissertation’, I had never really contemplated just how tiresome it would actually turn out to be. I chose to write about performativity in Anita Loos’ Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, which for most of you will mean diddly squat. I’d like to say it means a lot to me but I would be lying. When I first read the novel I loved it, now I never want to see it again. 8792 words later, my brain has turned to mush.

After living in 1925 for five months I think it’s time to get back to reality and think about things that really matter like what colour nail polish to wear and what time I’m going to head to prelash tomorrow evening. I want to be young, free and silly… even if it is only for a short while until reality strikes! Join me, won’t you?

To those of you who see the dissertation as a distant memory, congratulations for getting through it, for those of you still writing, I promise there is a light at the end of the tunnel (albeit vodka stained) and for those of you now revising for exams… good luck.

I’m off to have a well deserved pedicure and glass of pimms.

Happy cramming!

Leave a Reply

