The Red Lips

Beauty

Angelina Jolie and Marylin Monroe are just two of the most gorgeous examples of women that wear red lipstick with ease. There are hundreds more, in fact, I have a theory that red lippy suits every single woman, as long as she knows how to wear it. There is one woman who i’m not sure can pull it off. Me. When I think of myself sporting the red lip look, I would like to say I picture Jessica Rabbit, but in reality, I find myself looking more like Jessie Wallace! It just DOES NOT suit me. I have tried for years to figure out what it is that makes me look so god damn awful when donning something other than pale lips. I have questioned the shape of my face, my auburn hair clashing with the colour and even my sticky out teeth, but i’ve now come to the conclusion that it’s an attitude thing. You have to be able to wear the lipstick, not let it wear you. This is where the problem lies.

I like to think that I have a reasonable amount of confidence, but I just can’t seem to shake off the fact that my pout is looking more puke than pukka. Back in the day, people would’ve been able to take bigger chances with fashion but now we’re living in the digital age, pictures of your regretful look will be around forever. There are no second chances with the red smile.

I’ve decided i’m going to brave the vixen look. I refuse to let this lack of rouge tinted attitude hold me back . I WILL wear red lipstick… and I WILL look like Nicole Kidman in Moulin Rouge!

Well, a girl can dream can’t she!

Leave a Reply

